Through Glasses

Title: Through Glasses
Pairing: Kris/IU
Rating: T
Genre: Romance, Family
Length: Oneshot
Summary: How Jieun looks through Kris’ vision.

.

.

.

You’re beautiful, beautiful… 

She’s a beauty.

Indeed a beauty.

I know I have to get her soon. Or else, that beauty would be lost forever. I don’t want it for sure. I’ve got to be the one who will be by her side, not anyone else.

Thus, I make my way to her house one day. Greeting her parents, I’m welcomed warmly. The small house where she lives is full of warmth. It’s the first time I step in here but I like this place already. Everything around her is always full of warmth and beauty. She’s a genuine beauty.

The house has thin walls, because I can hear the cackling sound from the kitchen, she’s probably there. I know she can hear me. I say my business coming here to her parents. They’re shocked at first, look at each other before turning back to me. I’m worried, but then they smile to me; finally, I can breathe in relief. They call their only daughter—don’t ask me where I got that info—to the living room.

“Come here, Jieun-ah!”

I watch towards the kitchen direction. Then I see the most beautiful woman in the universe, creeping her way to the living room! Oh, God, I don’t know how to breath, I’m afraid I would miss every second’s ticking. I want to watch everything as long as it’s hers.

Before they could notice my jaw dropping to the floor, I close my mouth and clear my throat. And then, she smiles. God, are you having fun torturing my heart like this? Punching it with your threats of destiny? If yes, then please don’t stop.

“I don’t have parents, but I have a neighbor who seems like my own uncle as my guardian. So…,” I think of my words carefully, “would you accept this—my proposal?”

Waiting for her answer is like waiting for a bomb to explode. A bomb of rainbow and unicorn.

She nods.

Her parents smile happily, her dad patting her head and her mom patting her back.

Then it seems everything in me really explodes, in a form of small smile I show for her (how foolish). I should have smiled wider but nonetheless, I’m so happy.

+++

Every day, I will come back home to find her on the rocking chair, knitting clothes for dolls. She then will get up to welcome me, wrapping her hands around my neck, and then give a loving kiss on both my cheeks. Then I kiss her forehead. She let go of me and goes to the kitchen, probably making me hot tea.

Once, I love coffee. I still love it, though, but she won’t let me since she has said once: “It’s not healthy, always drinking coffee is bad.” What I’m supposed to do? You can guess.

I go to our room, strip my clothes, then go to the bathroom inside our bedroom, only to find the bath tub has been filled with warm, a little too hot water. I breathe out and smile. A very nice wife, the best even! I won’t ever regret marrying her, I’m sure.

She brings my tea, and I take a sip of it. Bitter, but it smells good—maybe jasmine. It’s raining outside, so the tea feels many times better. She makes me dinner. It’s not my favorite dish—a bowl of rice, an omelet, and some boiled cabbages—but anything her-made, I like it. No, I love it.

However, I wonder why there is just one plate instead of two. “Jieun-ah, you don’t eat?”

“…Ah, no, I have eaten.”

My Jieun never does anything for herself before everyone. She is the woman who will wait for her husband until whatever-time at night just to sleep together, making sure that the husband is sleeping without problem. Making sure that I sleep soundly. And of course, that includes having dinner with me. That’s why, I can’t believe she had eat dinner before me.

“What’s wrong, Jieun-ah?” I demand.

She hesitates for a moment, but, being a good wife she is, she looks down and answers to my question obediently, “Our rice supply is running out. I-I don’t have money to buy more food.”

I sit still on my chair. This is my entire fault that she has to go through all this poverty. I haven’t worked hard enough for her and for us, our future. I’m sorry Jieun-ah.

I slide the chair beside me and pat on it, silently asking her to sit down. “I’m sorry.”

She hushes me. “I know you’ve been working so hard lately.”

I crack a smile hearing her words. She smiles, too. Then I shift the plate in front of me a few inches to the right. “Come, eat with me.”

We spend the evening with smile and laughter as we eat our last plate of the day, together.

+++

At my work place, I work as an editor. Our magazine is still green; my boss built the company about a year ago. My friends give me the piece of news, I’ll read it and edit it before putting it on the magazine’s layout. That after that, it will be brought to the printing area on the back of my working place.

One day, on lunch time, my friends get up to buy take-out food, so does my boss. Me, I take the lunch my wife had prepared out of the plastic bag. When we’re ready to eat together, my boss teases me: “Your wife made you that?”

“Yeah, plus her cooking is so delicious!”

Starting from that, I begin to tell them how my wife looks like, how beautiful she is, how skillful she is in knitting doll’s clothes, and many more how.

They nod, as if it’s their first time seeing me like this. Am I never been like this? But, it feels natural to praise my wife from this far. Haha, I want to let them know that she is the best wife one could ever get.

+++

Jieun and I are getting ready with our fanciest clothes. We’re going to a dinner tonight. No, not just her and me but with my colleagues. My boss has invited me. And he told us a week ago to bring our wife, or girlfriend.

We drive there with my vespa. Jieun tightens her jacket, then wraps her arms around my belly. I laugh because it tickles.

Once we arrive at the restaurant, Jieun can stop looking with curious wide eyes. But when we’re about to look for our seat, she suddenly stops. I ask why. She says she’s embarrassed. I take her right hand, “Don’t be. You’re so beautiful. You llok even more beautiful tonight. There’s not a day when you’re not  beautiful,” and kiss it.

“O-Okay, but let me go to the rest room first,” said her.

“Don’t take too long. Remember, table 8.”

“Alright.”

I walk to the table alone. I see all of my friends have gathered. They bring their wife or girlfriend as told. Boss sees me alone, asks me, “Where’s your wife?”

Then everyone pays attention to me.

“Yeah, where’s the so-called beautiful wife you said?”

“I wanna see how beautiful she is, that she could make you head over heels in love.”

“Yeah, you should’ve seen his face when he tells about his wife.”

I told them she is in the toilet and then I just keep my face straight with all the noises. Then I heard those melodious and graceful steps from behind. It must be her. I look to my back, only to find her smiling all the way to me. I immediately stand up.

“Guys, here is my wife!!” My wife smiles bashfully as I wrap my left hand around her shoulder, looking at me, then back to my friends.

Suddenly they become very quite. My boss raises an eyebrow, but then he holds his hand out to introduce himself.

“Uh, haha, nice to meet you, Mrs. Wu. I’m his boss.”

“Nice to meet you, too, Mister.”

But other than boss, they can’t stop staring at my wife it irritates me. One of them starts laughing mockingly. “Hah, is this the so-called beautiful wife of yours? My wife is way prettier than her, har-har. Right, honey?”

“My wife is slimmer than her!”

“My girlfriend is taller and prettier!”

The other says something, too, but I don’t care anymore. I keep smiling and tighten my arms around Jieun’s shoulder blade.

“You should have seen my wife through my glasses. Yet you look at her through your own glasses. That’s why you can’t see the beauty in her. There are so many in here.” I say while patting the side of her head. “Come on, Jieun-ah.” I whisper. “Thank you for your invitation, guys! But I forgot that I have a special dinner tonight. See you tomorrow!” With that, we head out to the parking lot and go back home.

“Why?” She questions once we’re back home.

“Nothing. I just want to spend my time tonight with you.”

“Thank you…”

She brings my tea, and I take a sip of it. Bitter, but it smells good—maybe jasmine. It starts raining outside, so the tea feels many times better. She makes me dinner. It’s not my favorite dish—a bowl of rice, an omelet, and some boiled cabbages—but anything her-made, I like it. No, I love it.Minutes later, she’s back from the kitchen with a plate of food.

I sit still on my chair. This is my entire fault that she has to go through all the irritating dinner, which lucky I didn’t attend until the end. I’m sorry Jieun-ah.

I slide the chair beside me and pat on it, silently asking her to sit down. “I’m sorry.”

She hushes me. “It’s alright. I want to be with you, too. I’m so lucky I have you.”

I crack a smile hearing her words. She smiles, too. Then I shift the plate in front of me a few inches to the right. “Come, eat with me.”

We spend the evening with smile and laughter as we eat our last plate of the day, together.

.

It’s beautiful to be with someone who loves you for the beauty you have

not the beauty you don’t have

.

You’re still beautiful, Beautiful


 

Have fun commenting.

